You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Frustration!!! And maybe a bit of impatience? How to deal?  (Read 4678 times)

Offline 1210

• Diamond Blocking
  • Total GOE: 7
Frustration!!! And maybe a bit of impatience? How to deal?
« on: January 05, 2011, 09:56:18 PM »
I'm no where near a good skater, in fact, all I can do is skate forwards and do forwards swizzles! But I dream of doing figure skating. I think about it all dy, every day, and I can just picture myself doing a tripple axel one day, hopefully. But for now, I'm a newbie! I've been skating for a few weeks maybe. I go every day during the week after school and skate for 2 hours. And it's becoming more frustrating than enjoyable! Here's why.

When I go skating, there are usually a few pros on the ice too. I'm always so jealous of them! It's almost embarassing to be sharing the ice with such good skaters. They must be laughing at me on the inside, as all I can do is skate in circles. I want to be like the pros, I want to do more than circles!

Maybe it's a matter of impatience. Not too long ago, I was a serious ballerina. Figure skating is the first thing I'm doing that's really new to me. I'll be able to take group lessons, but not until the end of this month!

What am I to do? Any advice?
Thanks for reading my little sob story for the day haha. I'm laying in bed typing this on mt phone because I can't sleep over this issue!

Thanks!
Ladyavalon

Offline davincisop

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 162
  • 2017 Goal: Pass Bronze Dances
Re: Frustration!!! And maybe a bit of impatience? How to deal?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 11:43:18 PM »