You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Stretches to help front crossovers?  (Read 8684 times)

Offline Ethereal Ice

• Prerotation Society
  • Total GOE: 13
Stretches to help front crossovers?
« on: May 05, 2016, 04:35:56 AM »
Hi guys. My subject title speaks for itself I guess, I am a skating newbie, I have been skating for four months now, about 4 mornings a week for an hour each time. I had my very first real lesson a day ago, I have worked hard on my own to learn as many elements as possible independently, but crossovers have proved very intimidating for me, and I wanted to wait until I had formal instruction to help me with them. After reviewing the basics with me to see where I was at, my coach began working on them with me, both on the rail and then with her supporting me on a circle.

I think it went really well from the perspective of it being the first time ever for me to really ever try it on the ice (I have tried the stepping over motion off ice at the rink, but never on the ice like this. I was pretty happy with that whole part of it. However, I told my coach that I just feel so awkward with my legs crossed over like that, and when I say awkward I mean stiff, off balance, and like my body position is so wrong...normally my skating posture is pretty good, but on my worst attempts, I forget about my knee bends, my butt ends up sticking way out, I am bent forward at the waist, everything I knew you are not supposed to do. Of course my coach's reminders about my edges, my arms, to keep my knees bent and keeping my weight solidly on my foot that is crossed over before attempting to complete the motion really helps....but I really feel like a major problem is still that I just feel so stiff!!!