You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Coloring/smudge transfer from boot covers? Help!  (Read 2234 times)

Offline sofakartoffel

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 16
  • Jeg forlod mit hjerte i København.
Coloring/smudge transfer from boot covers? Help!
« on: September 16, 2010, 12:17:52 AM »
I've been working on backward pumps and getting more comfortable with backward skating in general (I'm a newbie). I usually wear black boot covers while practicing since wanted to keep the "new" look of my skates.  Last practice, after knocking the inside part of my boots together repeatedly from doing these backward pumps and backward 1-foot glides (the coach told me that the free leg should return right next to the skating leg after the initial 'pump', but of course, I lacked the motor control for that...) I noticed that these grey/black-ish smudges have developed on the "inside" part of the skates. I've noticed previously that my laces were getting dingier and dingier, especially since after I started practicing with the boot covers, so I immediately thought there's a possible correlation. I've also noticed other "smudgy" parts like this, particularly on the region where the boots are supposed to crease, but it seems to have spread somehow  :-\

Whatever it is seems to have transferred from the laces as well to the tongue of the boot!