You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: A thread for the skating-fashionably challenged.  (Read 13444 times)

Offline Doll

• Under the Edge
  • Total GOE: 2
A thread for the skating-fashionably challenged.
« on: April 17, 2012, 07:49:04 PM »
I'm new to this whole skating thing.

Skating seems to have it's own culture of fashion.  I admit, I am somewhat fashion challenged in the rest of the world at the best of times, so when it comes to figuring out (pardon the pun ;)) the skating fashions, I'm lost. ;)  Reality though is that if my daughter is going to have any skating clothing (whether dresses, skirts, jackets/pants etc - I'll be sewing them myself (I'm an advanced seamstress and money is tight!) so I need to start studying... I would like to at least attempt to understand!

So tell me - what's tacky, what's not?  I have noticed in skating - competition dresses especially etc - the normal rules of tackiness don't apply (I doubt anyone would sport their rhinestone encrusted bodysuits to the grocery store, but they're very pretty on ice!).  But there is also likely opinions on what is a tacky dress - I just don't know what that is.  And who knows maybe there are some fashionably challenged people other than me who can learn a thing or two as well!

Obviously there are also varying tastes involved as well (and also different age groups involved, who might have different tastes ie: teenagers vs. adults), so let's try to keep this amicable and stay away from being too passionate about our dislikes, and those who happen to like something that another doesn't can take it with a grain of salt.  Let's have fun with it :)