You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: New skates!  (Read 2217 times)

Offline maddieonice

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
New skates!
« on: August 30, 2017, 10:20:00 PM »
Hello!

I got the Jackson Freestyle boots about 7 months ago but about 3 months into skating in them my heel started slipping so I went to the pro-shop about month ago to have them looked at and some how I had managed to break them down in 3 months. They said I could keep skating in them if I used a Bunga pad.
They want to put me in a higher level boot, specifically the Jackson Premieres, but I have two questions..
(Ive been skating for about 8 1/2 months and I'm starting my axel and double sal, I skate about 3-5 times a week during the school year and 6-7 times a week during the summer)

1. If I managed to break down the freestyles (stiffness rating of 45) in 3 months should I be put in a stiffer boot than the premieres (stiffness of 65) so I don't have to get a new boot every 6/7 months or should I go with what they reccomend?

2. Some of my friends had issues with the heel slipping with the freestyles, so they purchased new boots in the same size and width but still ended up having the heel issue. Finally they opted for the semi-custom split width option jackson offers and they no longer had an issue with the heel slipping, should I consider looking into the split widths as well or is my heel issue truly just because my skates broke down?

Thanks! :)

Online tstop4me

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 196
  • Conserve Angular Momentum
Re: New skates!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2017, 06:41:35 AM »