You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Newbie LTS Instructor  (Read 3618 times)

Offline holdontilmae

• Beware the Bars of Death!
  • Total GOE: 29
Newbie LTS Instructor
« on: January 15, 2016, 04:04:03 PM »
I've recently been hired as a LTS instructor for the tots/pre-alpha levels. I am totally new to it and was hoping someone out there might have some tips and tricks for teaching the wee ones? Specifically, what to do when you have a whole group of tiny terrified kids who don't want to be there and spend the whole class bawling. I want them to have fun, but I can't seem to get through to them....any advice is appreciated!

Offline AgnesNitt

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 516
    • The ice doesn't care
Re: Newbie LTS Instructor
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 05:00:26 PM »
I'm no coach, but I see our LTS coaches use lots and lots of stuffed toys from the dollar store as on ice motivators.
Yes I'm in with the 90's. I have a skating blog. http://icedoesntcare.blogspot.com/

Offline DrillingSkills

• Dreaming of Diamond Dances
  • Total GOE: 2
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2016, 05:00:54 PM »
If your club allows it, I've found that drawing on the ice keeps their mind off the fear of the ice. Some children particularly enjoy the challenge of 'erasing' a drawing with their blades, which I find is a fun way to teach them to make snow (an eventually stop). Roadmaps also work well - they follow the path (draw an outer and inner line to make the 'path', not just one line for them to follow), and we give them plastic steering wheels to make them feel like they are driving. Sometimes we add in available props to make it more interesting - the more props the better with the tiny tots!