You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Query About Knee Health  (Read 11406 times)

Offline Query

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 113
    • mgrunes.com
Query About Knee Health
« on: September 16, 2010, 01:55:23 PM »
I once saw some kids going from shoot the ducks to lunges (by rotating the leg outwards, bending the knee, and sliding or lifting it back), so I started practicing going back and forth between the two.

Can anyone explain to me why deep knee bends are bad for the knees?

And is that true for everyone, or does it have something to do with your injury history or internal anatomy?

Some health advice is directed towards group fitness instructors, who don't have time or training to investigate the individual differences among their customers, but try to avoid harming anyone who might happen to walk into their class. I was once told the standard aerobics class advice against bending the knee past 90 degrees in lunges was an example of that. (Skating lunges, and many of those used in various types of performance dance, go beyond 90 degrees.)

E.G., is it only bad for people who have damaged their knee cartilage or cruciate ligaments, or something like that?

There are standard Yoga poses where you more or less go into a fetal position (e.g., "Child Pose"), with fully bent knees. Are those supposed to be bad for you too? If bad, is it bad for everyone?

Offline sk8Joyful

• Defrosting Da Toes
  • Total GOE: 72
Re: Query About Knee Health
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2010, 05:36:56 PM »
I once saw some kids going from shoot the ducks to lunges (by rotating the leg outwards, bending the knee, and sliding or lifting it back),
so I started practicing going back and forth between the two.
As a beginner, I have done this to some extent -