You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Figure skates vs hockey skates: blade interchangeability and boot design  (Read 5847 times)

Offline seanspotatobusiness

• Training Blades
  • Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
Hey. Is it possible to attach figure skate blades to hockey skate boots? The designs of hockey boots are wicked awesome and the designs of figure skates... well there basically one design and it might as well be a glittery pink ballet shoe. All the cool kids at the rink have hockey skates and I'm still a beginner so it doesn't make much difference at this point but I guess I'd later lament the lack of a toe pick, whatever that's for. I'm not interested in ever playing hockey.

Offline FigureSpins

• CER-A, CER-C
  • Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 188
Hockey boots are "wicked awesome?"  They look like giant blobs of plastic that consumed your feet!  What's awesome about wearing Herman Munster skates?   ???

Go for it - buy skates and blades, pay to have them connected, then tell us how you make out.  I wouldn't waste the money - you can't get the ankle/knee mobility of a figure skate or support for jumps or edging.  You'll essentially skate like a wanna-be hockey player and muscle everything, but try it out for yourself!  If you don't figure skate, it's not a fair test, though.  You have to have skating skills to get any meaningful information out of the experiment.

Figure skates are designed for figure skating, so their appearance is perfect since it's functional.  If you're not going to do figure skating, get a pair of Soft Skates to tool around in circles at public sessions or on a pond.  They're a cross between a figure skate and a hockey skate with lots of padding.