You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: How long until my fingers harden?  (Read 7368 times)

Offline angelgirls29

• Ice Warrior
  • Total GOE: 3
How long until my fingers harden?
« on: July 03, 2012, 05:38:38 AM »
I've currently got nylon/cotton blend laces. They're about 3/4 months old but they still stretch so I'm having to re-tie them once/twice per session.

On Friday, I ended up re-tying 3 times (blood on the ice, Sophie goes walkies until it's gone..... and since I'd just had a super-de-duper-dee sharpen I changed in to my trainers and back again) and my finger looked BAD.
After yesterday, my finger looks SUPER BAD (don't want to give more info just in case anyone's squeamish!).

I've been skating with cheapo/Risport/these laces for 18 months and I was wondering when my fingers will eventually harden?
If they haven't done by now, should I wait it out or just buy cotton (when I can find some and afford the postage etc)?

I'm a bass guitar player so I know it takes a while for your fingers to harden but I don't know if it's a lost cause!

Offline irenar5

• Practicing Chick Tails
  • Total GOE: 61
Re: How long until my fingers harden?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 08:19:01 AM »
There are 2 differing thoughts on this:  thicker laces or thinner laces.
The argument for thicker is that the pressure is more distributed over your fingers (Cotton) and thinner laces tend to cut easier.
The argument for thinner is that they slide in and out of eyelets easier, thus you don't have to pull as hard (nylon or blend)

I am of the latter camp, having gone with bloody fingers for a few months after tying my thick cotton laces that came with my Riedells.  Then I switched to thinner laces and WHAT A DIFFERENCE!