You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: What skate do you recommend for new adult skaters?  (Read 2993 times)

Offline Kaylyn519

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
What skate do you recommend for new adult skaters?
« on: April 20, 2020, 10:46:14 AM »
I am new to figure skating, having only ever skated recreationally. I am 120lbs, 5'3 and 20 years old and I'm a bit stuck on which skate is the best to buy for beginners. I'd like a boot that could last for a bit before needing to upgrade them. I can do all of the basics but no jumps yet. I've been looking into Jacksons.

Offline Loops

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 112
Re: What skate do you recommend for new adult skaters?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 12:58:00 PM »
Welcome to the sport!  If you search these forums, you'll find a lot of threads containing answers to this question.  Skate buying is an adventure, and sadly it's not simple.  Everyone is different, so theres no one-size-fits-all answer.

What's most important is fit.  All the brands are great, and use different lasts, so they'll fit different shaped feet.  So the most important thing is to try them on.  Sizing is also different- you want these to be like a hug on your feet- secure, but not too tight.  Too much room and you won't be able to control your skates, elongating your learning curve. There is a temptation to purchase skates that are too long, to get the right width.  You really do need to work with a fitter.