You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Is this normal?  (Read 4329 times)

Offline WaltzJump413

• Doing the Fiesta Tangle!
  • Total GOE: 181
Is this normal?
« on: May 22, 2014, 11:44:15 AM »
I've been working on the two-foot spin for quite awhile now, I have to have 6 revolutions for my FS 1 test (in early June.)

I used to do about 3 or 4. But for the past two lessons, I've been able to get 6 and sometimes even 7 or 8. In fact, last night in class, I was feeling confident and getting revolutions. They were probably the best I've done, and I could pretty consistently get good ones.

After group class, I started practicing on the public session. For the first 10-15 minutes, I was pretty much okay.

But later on, I just couldn't spin. I would get 3 slow revs at the most and it didn't feel right at all. I tried and tried, but just couldn't do it.

Will I ever spin again? Is it gone for good? I can't figure out how I went from feeling really confident and like I finally "got" it to barely having it at all.

I think it might be related to test anxiety, as I have only one more lesson before the test and haven't been feeling too strong on what I need to test.

Thanks in advance!
ISI Freestyle 2 as of 11/3/14

"A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new." – Albert Einstein

"I can do all things through Christ Who gives me strength."- Philippians 4:13

Offline Query

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 113
    • mgrunes.com
Re: Is this normal?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 01:15:22 PM »
Did you ever read the Isaac Asimov short story where a wizard makes something spin faster and faster until it uses up all the magic?

You did the same thing.

No one will ever spin again at your rink!

---