You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Not beating yourself up  (Read 6509 times)

Offline Feebee

• Zamboni Driver
  • Total GOE: 2
  • I would sleep in my skates if I could
Not beating yourself up
« on: February 17, 2015, 09:58:34 AM »
Long rant coming :)

Ok here goes: I'm scared I'll never really progress. I''m really tough on myself and it's affecting my skating. The more I set myself up for an awesome lesson, the worse I perform. Suddenly my crossovers are choppy, and then it throws me off even more thinking things like "I'll never get this. I've been working on the same basic elements for 6 months and I'm STILL scared to do crossovers".

I just feel like other people learn so much faster, or am I wrong? I need to work on so many factors - flexibility, coordination, balance, fear of falling - none of those things come easily to me.

I started a year ago (but took a 6 month break, so it was like, 3 months last winter, 2.5 months this season). I'm 30 years old and I feel like time is running out - not because I'm too old, I know folks are on here that are upwards of 60, but in terms of the amount of time/money I'll have to dedicate to the sport. Right now things are perfect. I freelance, I'm single (by choice, his choice, lol), so time/money isn't a problem really, but it might be within the next year or so, and if all I've learned by then is the 3-turn...

Just tell me it took you AGES to learn backwards crossovers and I'll be re-assured  :blush:

Offline mamabear

• Divot Maker
  • Total GOE: 98
Re: Not beating yourself up
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 10:35:54 AM »