You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Hi - super newbie here - please don't hate me and my ridiculous questions  (Read 5788 times)

Offline ~Twinkies~

• Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 0
Hello.  My name is Michelle and I'm the mom of a beginning figure skater named Valerie. 

Valerie is 9 years old and took her very first -knob-kneed and fearful- learn-to-skate class about 18 months ago.  She fell in love with ice skating immediately.  Before this, she was not one to embrace physical challenges. She would be more apt to pick up a book or paintbrush than a soccer ball or baseball bat and was not at all the child you would classify as "athletic".  She's fit and trim, but not the most graceful doe in the herd.  She's tall for her age, with super long legs and alternates between looking lovely, long and graceful and looking like a gangly, newborn giraffe (growth spurts and all that fun stuff).  She's become enamored with figure skating and wants to move forward and compete.  Honestly, I'm not sure how this is going to play out, but I'm her mother and it's my job to be supportive.  She is motivated and working hard, so I'm all over that.

Val started out very cautiously and she tends to approach/learn new skills slowly (her twin brother broke his wrist on the first day of the learn-to-skate program and brought some real and palpable fear into the picture). But, she has persisted through Basic 1,2,3 and 4 and wants to keep going.  She's had private coaching sessions for the last 6 months and has recently entered the world of freestyle ice time in our local rink.  That was a little traumatic (for both of us - holy collision waiting to happen!).