You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Gold Seal vs Coronation Ace  (Read 6966 times)

Offline Orange

• Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 9
Gold Seal vs Coronation Ace
« on: November 19, 2011, 04:18:18 PM »
I've bought new boots as my feet got wider and now need longer blades. The vendor has in stock JW Gold Seal and Coronation Ace, which is similar to MK Professional I have now. My budget allows either, and I'm thinking of giving Gold Seals a try, but concerned if there might be a problem with them being too advanced for my level. I've been skating for a few years, doing single jumps up to lutz, but no axel. Now I'm stillin working on getting loop and flip back after 1-year maternity break.
Does anyone have experience with skating on Gold Seals at similar level?

Offline Skittl1321

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 121
    • Skittles Skates
Re: Gold Seal vs Coronation Ace
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 05:05:04 PM »
I skated on used Gold Seals (came with my boots) when I was pre-bronze.  
They were good blades- I spun well in them, and they sometimes at first felt like they did the turns for me, it was just so easy compared to the previous blades.  However, they were my step up from Mirages (cheap Ultima blade that comes already on the boots, sold seperately it costs about $50- compared to Gold Seal's almost $600, Coronation Ace's are about $200 here).  When I stepped back down to the low level Paramounts (and now Ultima Matrix Legacy) I feel I skate exactly the same.  So the Mirage is a very entry level blade, and that was holding me back, but once I got to a true freestyle blade, there was no need for a top of the line blade.