You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Exercises for ankles  (Read 12171 times)

Offline TheWriterInBlack

• Diamond Blocking
  • Total GOE: 12
Exercises for ankles
« on: April 06, 2019, 11:15:26 PM »
I first learned to skate when I was 18 (which makes it about 40 years ago).  Strictly self taught.  I was okay on forward skating, forward edges and crossovers.  Never really "got" backward skating.  And then a few years later life happened and I never got onto the ice again until recently when my daughter got interested in skating.  As it happens, we're taking lessons side by side with each other.  Frankly, she's better than I am.  I have discovered that, no, it's not like riding a bike and I'm having more difficulty relearning now than I had learning the first time.

That said, I have two factors that severely limit my ice time.  The first is foot pain--arch issues I'll be talking with my podiatrist about.  The other is my ankles.  I've got my own skates, not rentals from the rink, and they fit well.  I double lace them through the speed laces to keep them tight over the ankles for maximum support.  Yet after 15-20 minutes at the public skate I get so wobbly in the ankles that I have to stop.

Most every exercise I have seen for building strength in the ankles is based on front to back strength--chiefly rising on your toes.  What I'm needing here is the side-to side supporting strength.  Can someone point me at good exercises for this?  I figure skating itself will strengthen that eventually, but anything I can do off-ice to get there quicker would be very helpful.

Offline tstop4me

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 196
  • Conserve Angular Momentum
Re: Exercises for ankles
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2019, 06:36:35 AM »