You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Pretentious jacket? Is this weird?  (Read 3639 times)

Offline Backtotheice

• Beware the Bars of Death!
  • Total GOE: 22
Pretentious jacket? Is this weird?
« on: October 05, 2016, 07:17:40 AM »
I got a $10 off coupon from the USFSA shop for my birthday. Looking at the shop I saw this very nice warm up jacket http://www.shopusfigureskating.com/EBFullZipFleeceLadies that has the US Figure Skating emblem on it. I'm no pro skater - I'm early 50's Adult skater just getting my single jumps and spins back after 20 years off the ice, with hopes of skating in Adult Nationals in April. Would you think it's weird for a barely competent adult skater to wear this "official" logo jacket? Is this stuff just for competitive track skaters? I did win Adult Bronze NE Regionals 20 years ago, so I have a eensy-weensy tiny minuscule connection to competitive USFSA skaters. I know I can get this Eddie Bauer jacket elsewhere without the emblem, but I kind of like the skating logo and am proud of being a figure skater again.

Honest opinions?

Offline lutefisk

• Wearing Evelyn Kramer's Coat
  • Total GOE: 153
    • On Thin Ice
Re: Pretentious jacket? Is this weird?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2016, 09:06:41 AM »
Go for it.  The logo shows your support for and membership in the organization not some level of expertise. Wear and enjoy.  Some of the jackets offered are limited to, for example, Gold test level skaters, but in those cases USFS wants to see proof that you've passed that level before you get the jacket.

Offline DressmakingMomma

• Gamified Figure Skater!
  • Total GOE: 24
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2016, 09:44:36 AM »