You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Move blades on PVC soles?  (Read 5086 times)

Offline tammyk

• Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 0
Move blades on PVC soles?
« on: December 11, 2014, 01:13:30 PM »
I am a beginner skater and my first time on the ice was the end of September. I'm having a lot of trouble with one foot glides. My coach says that my blade position is part of the problem. I'm in Reidell 119s so the sole is PVC. The skating director says they can't be moved, but when I spoke to someone at Reidell, he said they could. Does anyone know if they really can be moved without ruining the skates? Is this a defect in my skates or is moving the blade a standard thing?

Thank you!  :D

Offline TreSk8sAZ

• Blade Runner
  • Total GOE: 42
Re: Move blades on PVC soles?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 02:21:55 PM »
My understanding is that yes, blades can be moved on PVC soles, but it is difficult and most skate technicians won't do it. You would need to find someone very good - it can't just be someone at the rink. Depending on how much the blade needs to be moved, the holes might need to be filled before new ones can be drilled.

As far as blades needing to be moved, this is not uncommon. Each person's foot is a bit different and there may be issues like pronation (ankles leaning in) or supination (ankles leaning out) that an adjustment of blade position can help. Personally, I pronate, so my blades are offset just a bit to the inside.

Offline Loops

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 112
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 02:59:37 PM »
..and I supinate, so mine are a smidge to the outside AND shimmed!!  Yes, its very normal to not have a "normal" (i.e. manufacturers) blade placement.