You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Beginner taking lessons from high-level coach?  (Read 4404 times)

Offline sampaguita

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 44
Beginner taking lessons from high-level coach?
« on: October 15, 2013, 04:32:48 AM »
I'm a beginner ice dancer still working on my preliminary dances (Dutch Waltz, Canasta Tango, Rhythm Blues). I currently take lessons under a local coach, who is the only one qualified to teach ice dance in my rink.

There is a visiting high-level ice dance coach in my rink. He's from the UK, NCCP Level 4 (the masters level is Level 5). I'd love to take lessons from him, since it'd be nice to know techniques from a high-level ice dancer.

Now here's the problem. His hourly rate is 3x as much as that of my current coach. He also does only 1-hour sessions, and won't do half-hour ones. At this point, I can only afford 1 hour from him every month, since I still plan to keep my current coach (I figured it would be better to have someone watch me on a more regular basis.)

Does it make sense for a beginner like me to take lessons from a high-level coach? If so, is it better to start the lessons while I'm still doing preliminary dance, or should I wait until I do pre-bronze or higher?

Thanks a lot!

Offline jjane45

• Clean Skate
  • Total GOE: 162
Re: Beginner taking lessons from high-level coach?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2013, 08:15:48 AM »
I think it depends on how well do you work with your current coach, and how good is s/he in teaching the fundamentals.

Offline AgnesNitt

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 516
    • The ice doesn't care
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2013, 04:33:30 PM »
I think this is a difficult answer.