You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Helping Newbies @ the Rink  (Read 3790 times)

Offline Weeze

• Under the Edge
  • Total GOE: 0
Helping Newbies @ the Rink
« on: April 15, 2013, 05:25:37 PM »
When I'm at the rink it's very obvious that I'm a newbie, and it's rare that a skater (adult) doesn't come over to offer tips, etc.

One woman even took me by the hands while I did swizzles and then skated me around (my only experience with speed!)

I don't know if it's just that ice skaters are nice people, have all been where I am so feel empathy, or both, but can you think of another sport where this happens?

:love:
Weeze

Offline alejeather

• Ice Tourist
  • Total GOE: 23
Re: Helping Newbies @ the Rink
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 05:55:05 PM »
Welcome, Weeze!

We adult skaters are a passionate bunch. We're always excited to see others trying our fabulous sport and want to encourage them to keep going. Beginners may not realize that we were once in their (shoes) skates!

As a beginner, unsolicited tips may be appreciated, but there will likely come a day when you won't appreciate being interfered with without asking! I'm glad the skaters in your area are making you feel welcome!
"Any day now" turned out to be November 14, 2014.

Offline sampaguita

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 44
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2013, 06:14:53 AM »