You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Help me is my pain from my skates or injury??  (Read 2231 times)

Offline Finallyskating

• Wobbling on new skates
  • Total GOE: 16
Help me is my pain from my skates or injury??
« on: April 16, 2012, 07:57:15 AM »
Ever since I started practicing waltz jumps, also around the time of 3 weeks into my new skates and starting to tie the top hook, I have had pain in the left side of my left leg, a couple of inches above the ankle bone,orient to the left of where the hooks are....
Now, I did twist my left leg or ankle a bit around that time during practice, so maybe it didn't fully recover from that? It's been 3 weeks...thought is was better, but when I skate it comes back again worse...
If I lay in bed, on my left side, I can feel it when by ankle area touchs the bed...I don't feel it much when I walk, though I did in the beginning, but now, it's painful to the touch...Like if I cross my left leg on my right to tie or put on my shoe, wow, it hurts...
Also sometimes I still wish my skate would feel tighter a light bit in the heel and width, like it would feel better maybe with a thick sock, but I wear a thin trouser sock...so not sure if it's all from my skate...
Ok, sorry so long, but I guess I should cancel my lesson this week?

Offline aussieskater

• Wearing Evelyn Kramer's Coat
  • Total GOE: 52
Re: Help me is my pain from my skates or injury??
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 08:51:23 AM »
(((fiinallyskating))). It sounds very like what sarahspins and I are battling right now!  They're still trying to agree what I've done to mine - more tests this week.  Have you taken yours to a professional medico? Might be worth it to make sure you're not doing more damage.

Offline Finallyskating

• Wobbling on new skates