You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Long sleeve vs sleeveless dresses  (Read 7661 times)

Offline slcbelle

• Blade Runner
  • Total GOE: 224
  • Yes, I'm obsessed.
    • YouTube Videos
Long sleeve vs sleeveless dresses
« on: April 06, 2012, 09:12:55 PM »
I'm new at this and looking at test and competition dresses. So many of the beautiful ones are sleeveless!  Those with long sleeves are often made of mesh fabric which I'd think provides no warmth, really.  Being someone who's usually cold, I'm wondering if I'd die in a sleeveless dress.  I know I could wear a jacket or sweater over the dress until it's time for me to go on the ice but I'm envisioning getting out there, full over nerves and freezing cold, and just completely stiffening up.  Then again, the pressure of testing my make me hot and sweaty from nerves and having no sleeves might be a relief.  I do have a tendency to get flush when I'm under pressure.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the matter and your preference/experience.  I have no idea what to think.
Adult Silver FS, Intermediate MITF
Videos:  http://www.youtube.com/itslex71
Bronze Level Test Judge - Singles/Pairs
Non-Qual Competition Judge

Offline Kim to the Max

• Ice is the Vice
  • Total GOE: 72
Re: Long sleeve vs sleeveless dresses
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2012, 09:32:37 PM »
Generally you are out there for such a short amount of time that it doesn't matter :)

For moves, if I'm cold or if the rink is just too cold, I will wear my jacket for some or all of the test. For freestyle, the program is not all that long and you are moving around and pushing, so go with the what you like!

Offline Skittl1321

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 121
    • Skittles Skates
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2012, 09:35:44 PM »