You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: How did you or your child get interested in skating?  (Read 3915 times)

Offline SkateDad

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 0
How did you or your child get interested in skating?
« on: August 30, 2011, 03:12:34 PM »
A comment in another thread got me thinking about this. I'm brand new to skating and seem to be walking around blind and ignorant about most things skating. IMHO skating in general doesn't get much press with the exception of the Olympics, so I am curious how other families got interested in skating?

For my daughter, it was almost a necessity. She tried all kinds of sports but the overwhelming theme after a short time in any of them was "I'm too hot playing this" and admittedly I wasn't enjoying the time in the baking sun at the ball diamond, or in the sweltering gyms for gymnastics. So, skating was a win win for us and (knock wood) so far my daughter still loves it and never complains about the heat. :)

Offline sarahspins

• Passed Silver MITF 4/7/13!
  • Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 131
  • CER-C
Re: How did you or your child get interested in skating?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 03:29:51 PM »