You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: When was your first performance?  (Read 3515 times)

Offline Janie

• Doing the Fiesta Tangle!
  • Total GOE: 45
    • Jumps and falls of an adult figure skater
When was your first performance?
« on: December 01, 2012, 04:55:55 PM »
Adult sectionals this year is as close to me as it's going to get, and I kind of want to give it a try. But I've never done any sort of performance before yet, not recital, not FS test (I'll have my pre-bronze FS test next week, but as that's not a "program" I don't think it counts). Plus I don't know how competitive adult sectional pre-bronze is, I can definitely do pre-bronze elements, but do skaters actually skate better than their level? Like how pre-pre girls are probably doing axels in competition. I'm not trying to over-achieve and think I'm going to get gold, but I don't want to go in knowing I'm definitely last because I'm so much lower-level than everyone. Plus it would be my first performance and that's scary.

I know it would be best if I can do a recital before I do the competition, but our rink's next recital is either the exact same weekend or just the week before.

So anyway, my question is, when was your first performance? At a recital? At a bronze-level-or-above FS test? At an actual competition?
What level were you at at that point?
My figure skating blog! http://janieskate.blogspot.com/

Offline rachelplotkin

• Prerotation Society
  • Total GOE: 7
Re: When was your first performance?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 05:12:27 PM »