You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: ROH For Beginners  (Read 6480 times)

Offline Orianna2000

• Freestyle Skater
  • Total GOE: 22
    • Yesterday's Thimble
ROH For Beginners
« on: July 02, 2012, 11:01:39 PM »
What ROH is best for a beginner (Adult 2) who is skating on hockey ice, and who is 5'3" and 125 lbs?

When I got my previous skates sharpened, I just told the guy that I was a beginner and let him choose the ROH. He never mentioned what it was, but I really liked it. Now I'm going to have to get my new skates sharpened (if they ever arrive!) and I'm wondering what ROH to request. The skating director at our rink suggested 1/2" but I thought my earlier research contradicted this number. I can't find said earlier research, however, so I'm at a loss as to which ROH to get.

(I could have sworn there was a thread on this already, but I couldn't find it when I searched.)

Offline Query

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 113
    • mgrunes.com
Re: ROH For Beginners
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 11:59:09 PM »
I think that just as with figure skates (where sharpeners recommend most people use anywhere from about 1/4" to about 1", depending on the sharpener) you will find many sources with many different answers.

This one agrees with 1/2" for his weight.

Many sharpeners always go to one radius, so they can sharpen more skates/hour. So he may have to go with what his sharpener believes is "best" for most people. 1/2" is very common in hockey in my neck of the woods.

He may also just have to try something, and see how it works. For one thing, depending on the sharpener's technique, and how fine or course a wheel he uses, a given ROH can produce a wide range of different degrees of effective sharpness.

Offline sarahspins

• Passed Silver MITF 4/7/13!