You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Limitations of adult skaters?  (Read 15554 times)

Offline Mint27

• Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 0
Limitations of adult skaters?
« on: June 10, 2014, 06:45:25 PM »
So I am a beginner Figure Skater now at 19 years old, and I am very determined to learn many elements.

My question:
What I am asking is, as I know skaters who start from the age of walking tend to have a harder time as they age and go through puberty, and all this talk about higher center of gravity.....what are the limitations of beginning once you're older?

My backstory:
I am looking to skate not for competitions (at least not yet, adult nationals would be a dream if I could work up to them!) However I am known to attempt things that I may not be ready for, such as wrongly landing a self-taught jump and quite severely spraining my ankle.   :sweat This injury set me back many weeks, and while I am still not too afraid of the ice, I am planning on doing it the right way and starting with group lessons and working up to getting a private coach (time and $ is an issue for me as a student). Within the last week of starting, I can do forward and backward crossovers, all the basic stops, one foot & two foot glide, 3-rev two foot spin... but would love to one day be flexible enough to do a biellman spin, a strong spiral and maybe even some double jumps.
19 y/o, Summer 2014

short-term Goals:
* perfect my stroking, look confident on the ice with power and speed
* reach Freestyle 1
* increase my flexibility in back and legs
* increase my overall body strength

long-term Goals:
* be flexible enough to do a Biellmann
* do double jumps & combo spins

Offline littlerain

• On the Edge
  • Total GOE: 11
Re: Limitations of adult skaters?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2014, 07:09:56 PM »