You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Troubleshooting aching feet, aching lower leg muscles, and weakness please?  (Read 5189 times)

Offline AlbaNY

• Chock Full of Lilty Goodness
  • Total GOE: 129
Hi, this is my first post after doing a bunch of reading in the past months and finally being able to create an account. 

I’m an adult beginner.  When I was a kid I messed around on ponds with my mother’s old thin leather skates and considered it success to stay upright and move around.  This winter I grabbed some Softecs off Amazon and headed to the new municipal pond, and with the new boots I found I adored skating and could begin to works on crossovers, one foot glides and edges, and skating backwards.  I practiced as much as I could get someone to mind my preschool aged daughter, and the boots felt great.

With time I noticed how really they were too large especially when spring arrived and I switched to group lessons at a rink and wasn’t using thick socks for northern NY winter conditions.  I ended up with a pair of leather boots, had a new set of blades put on, and with a bit of punching out found them very tolerable.  (The first day from switching felt unpleasant after sneaker-like boots.)
They felt better each time, and I progressed happily with the weekly group lessons.

Then I had to take a break due to moving continents.  When I began skating again my lower leg muscles were quite unhappy the first time, which is understandable, but luckily my boots suddenly felt super comfortable… for two sessions… I’ll get to that next, and I got stronger after maybe an hour into the sessions,