You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: ISI Adult Championships- a complete newbie question  (Read 4021 times)

Offline skategeek

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 260
  • or is that geekyskater?
ISI Adult Championships- a complete newbie question
« on: May 07, 2014, 06:52:43 PM »
So the ISI Adult Championships in October are pretty much literally in my backyard... I've been planning to attend just to see what a competition is like and watch some good skating!  But in browsing the ISI site, I looked at the registration form and it looks like even lower level skaters are eligible to compete, in a variety of different events (solo, compulsories, etc.).  Since this competition moves around the country each year, it seems that this is an opportunity I should think about, since it would allow me to participate in a competition without making a huge travel commitment.  However... I have never done a competition, and don't even have a regular "official" coach, just the various LTS instructors at my rink.  (Loosely speaking, I've got ISI Alpha skills and am working on Beta, but have never been officially tested; that would have to change, of course.)

So my question is, am I crazy to even consider this?  I have no idea what really goes into preparing for a competition other than what I've picked up from reading here.  What would I have to do?  Or am I completely out of my depth here?  It seems it would be better to start with a smaller local competition first, but I don't know of any between now and then.  But am I nuts to think of my first competition being something this big?  (And am I really even interested in competing?  Not sure... one way to find out!)

Offline littlerain

• On the Edge
  • Total GOE: 11
Re: ISI Adult Championships- a complete newbie question