You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Having issues with mental block/fear...  (Read 3516 times)

Offline IzziAngel

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 8
Having issues with mental block/fear...
« on: March 22, 2018, 03:25:10 PM »
I'm a beginner Adult (Adult 4) and recently started having issues with skating backwards. It started about a month ago when I was doing a basics run-through of backward crossovers, I was looking over my shoulder to the right, my coach was watching me on my left side, and another coach was demonstrating a kind of a backward shoot the duck move to her student with her back toward me. The other coach took my legs out from under me and we went down hard.  No injuries, and no one was at fault - even though she apologized to me profusely.  Now I find myself having a very hard time doing anything backwards.  I am obsessively cautious to the point that i look and feel like I've regressed in skill.  I skate early in the morning when there are fewer people at the rink so I am well aware that it is all in my head because I do it even when there is no one near me.  It's almost a subconscious thing, like my body reacts before my brain can process what I'm doing.   How in the world do I get over this unreasonable fear?

Any help or advice would be GREATLY appreciated!
What is hard today, will one day be your warm-up.

Offline Doubletoe

• Three-Penny Three-Turns
  • Total GOE: 139
Re: Having issues with mental block/fear...
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 06:44:49 PM »
Do you think you could ask your coach to skate just ahead of you as you skate backwards and clear the way for you so you know you aren't going to run into anyone?  Maybe do that just a few minutes at the beginning of each lesson until you get your confidence back?

Offline AgnesNitt