You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Parents of Skaters or Skaters that started young....  (Read 7831 times)

Offline jlspink22

• Gamified Figure Skater!
  • Total GOE: 9
Parents of Skaters or Skaters that started young....
« on: October 20, 2014, 10:05:28 AM »
Ok some background JUST to give you an idea of where we are at. Daughter (just turned 5 two weeks ago) started skating in February, on public for fun only - self taught through Snowplow Sam 3. Her first group coach held her at Snowplow Sam 3 pretty much for age and needing more work on "perfecting" said skills. Later we switched to a different rink, and eventually got a private coach 1x/week on top of groups.  Ironically, her group coach is also coached by my daughters private coach, which is great because they can both chat and know what she needs work on.

Anyways - coaches and I tossed around the idea of doing a basic skills competition, depending on how well she was doing. She knows her skills up to a Basic 4/5 and she does them well for just turning 5. BUT she's not "competition ready" just yet. Again, she is 5 so to her, she's not interested in "perfecting" things right now, she just wants to learn and skate and dance on the ice. She likes performing so we think it would be better to do the club ice shows first, get her feet wet, and then revisit the competition thing later.