You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Being a low-commitment skater...  (Read 4751 times)

Offline hellotwizzles

• Under the Edge
  • Total GOE: 0
Being a low-commitment skater...
« on: May 07, 2018, 06:00:33 PM »
So...I’ve been skating seriously for about a couple months now, and brought up with my coach that I would like to stay with him, as well as possibly try for low-level tests (STAR Element assessments, perhaps up to STAR 3 program) and perhaps try competing at An Adult Intro/Beginner event for next season. Spring Ice is ending and the Summer programs are all beginning so we were chatting about where I want to take my skating.

My coach recommends skating two to three times a week, two open practice sessions, one session focusing specifically on jumps and spins, one 30-min MITF/stroking lesson, off-ice ballet, and off-ice conditioning (45 minute classes) and I’m wondering if this a normal load for a strictly recreational low-level adult?

I’d  have almost no time for any other sports being that I’d be at the rink almost daily except for Monday and having to drive there and all.

Are any of you guys “low commitment” skaters? If so, how do you maintain progress if you can’t make it to the rink often?

Offline Bill_S

• Over the Edge
  • Total GOE: 370
  • Whack! Bam! Ouch!
    • Bill's skating pages
Re: Being a low-commitment skater...
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2018, 07:36:10 PM »
If I understand the recommendation, the schedule sounds intense for someone in it just for fun.