You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Balance advice?  (Read 5602 times)

Offline Weeze

• Under the Edge
  • Total GOE: 0
Balance advice?
« on: April 23, 2013, 09:00:32 PM »
As a wobbly newbie I'd be interested to hear what in particular helped you feel steady on your feet enough so you could progress.

What element brought you to that "aha!" moment when you "got it."
Weeze

Offline rachelplotkin

• Prerotation Society
  • Total GOE: 7
Re: Balance advice?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 10:18:12 PM »
Practice, practice and more practice.

Offline treesprite

• Defrosting Da Toes
  • Total GOE: 5
  • Returning from a past skating life.
    • Ice Skate Forum
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2013, 01:05:25 AM »
Practice, practice and more practice.
Yep!

Offline sarahspins

• Passed Silver MITF 4/7/13!
  • Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 131
  • CER-C
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2013, 01:20:13 AM »
And PATIENCE.. but seriously, the best thing you can do is not focus on "why can't I ____" but rather "wow, look what I'm doing today that I wasn't doing last week/month/year!"  I promise you are improving every time you get on the ice, even if that improvement happens in increments you don't see very easily.  At all ages, I see skaters get frustrated by their perceived lack of progress, but it's usually because they're focusing on something they can't do, rather than realizing all of the things they can do.

You probably don't remember learning to ride a bike...but that probably took some time and frustration, and you were wobbly at first (and probably fell a lot), and eventually you got better, and at some point you stopped thinking about riding and just did it - all because you practiced, and that practice eventually made it seem easy.. skating is kind of the same way :)

Offline sampaguita