You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: skates for beginner adult and coaching  (Read 6396 times)

Offline MARIATREK

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 0
skates for beginner adult and coaching
« on: March 10, 2015, 09:20:14 AM »
Hello!

I am new to the sport and i would like your advice on the skates i should purchase and on the coach i should chose. First of all, the options where i live are limited,both for skates and coaches.Concerning the skates there are only Jacksons and the Wifa Primaset. I wouldn't buy a pair because i am a beginner, i do not even do crossovers, but after getting blisters like burns in my feet from the rentals (i glide on ice rather fast for about 4 hours), then i don't have another option. I really like the Jackson Freestyle with the Mirage blade, but i don't think that they are suitable for beginners ...these are for jumps e.t.c There are also the glacier, mistique and artist. The artists come with the Mark 4 blade. Do you think that this blade is not suitable for beginners?

As for the coaches, there are 3 or 4 most of them occupied with high level athlets. There is one who works with adult beginners and HE approached me one day. He told me that i am working only the one leg and i am going to have problems with that ,leaving the other one weaker and he gave me his card. Was his approach good? What do you think? Later on, i took the courage to approach a high level female figure skater (she is amazing!)who is also a coach. I asked if she had time to show me some basic things. She didn't seem VEEERY willing but she was very kind and she gave me her phone number. But really, i feel but to use her valuable time for me....