You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Edea arch pain  (Read 3209 times)

Offline mnrjpf99

• Diamond Blocking
  • Total GOE: 4
Edea arch pain
« on: August 25, 2017, 08:12:10 PM »
So I have been wearing my Edea Ice Fly's for a good close to 3 months now. So far so good, but I have arch pain more often than not. Sometimes the pain goes away after about 10 minutes or so and other times the pain lingers. Any idea's on what mite minimize the pain?

Offline tothepointe

• Dust Bunny Hopping
  • Total GOE: 5
Re: Edea arch pain
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2017, 04:45:13 PM »
Is your boot moving in the boot at all causing your arches to have to compensate?

Offline Query

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 113
    • mgrunes.com
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2017, 08:41:04 PM »
More data needed! Arch pain is very unspecific.

E.g., when does the arch pain start? Immediately upon putting the foot in the boot? After and while you put weight on it? A few minutes after you start skating? Many minutes after you start skating?

Have you tried putting stuff under the arch - e.g., tape or adhesive foam underneath the insole, directly under the arch?

Have you tried putting stuff everywhere else - e.g., tape underneath the insole, everywhere but the arch?

Have you tried removing the insole?

Is the pressure of the boot all over your foot uniform? (Most people feel it should be light or non-existent next to and in front of the toes, but roughly equal everywhere else?

Are you using muscle to prevent the boot from edging to the inside? (Continuous excess muscle use makes you sore.)

Are you using muscle to prevent the boot from edging to the outside?

Are you using muscle to prevent the blade from rocking too far forwards?