You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Nutrition  (Read 3745 times)

Offline Skating_Jen

• Ice Warrior
  • Total GOE: 0
Nutrition
« on: April 30, 2013, 11:55:26 AM »
Hi everybody,

How balanced is your nutrition? What do you usually eat and what not?
I just started back skating a few weeks back and I need to cut down on all those sweets I've been eating lately. As I'm studying eating biscuits, muffins and cupcakes seem a good idea as they seem to keep me concentrated. But is there anything else I can eat instead of all those sweets? Plus I tend to barely eat on my training days which I guess isn't really that healthy.
I am determined to properly get back into it which means changing my whole diet I guess. Does anybody have any useful tips for me?:-)
It doesn't matter how bad the day/week is as soon as I'm on the ice and hear the sound of my blades it's all good. Nothing else matters on the ice!

Offline fsk8r

• Sharp Skates
  • Total GOE: 49
Re: Nutrition
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 12:12:16 PM »
Try replacing your sugary snacks with healthier ones: a handful of nuts and seeds, fruit, raw vegetables with houmous.
I find if you don't buy the sugary snacks in the first place, you can't be tempted to eat them. I try not have any in the home and what I do have is hidden so I really need to hunt and remember it's there to eat it.

Offline jjane45

• Clean Skate
  • Total GOE: 162
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2013, 03:36:58 PM »
I don't buy anything unhealthy, no snack whatsoever. I am also quite conscious when eating out.

The problem is food at work... Especially if I am stuck on something :(

Offline Skating_Jen

• Ice Warrior
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2013, 04:51:18 PM »

The problem is food at work... Especially if I am stuck on something :(