You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Advice on Figure Skating Levels  (Read 2640 times)

Offline sk8rchicky

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 0
Advice on Figure Skating Levels
« on: October 23, 2012, 02:27:15 PM »
Hello,
I am a Novice level skater but I don't skate nearly as much as I used to skate. I skate collegiates in college now but my skating is just not Novice level anymore. I am skating test track and it helps a little but its hard to compete when you don't have the jumps you used to. Any advice on how to strategize a program without a ton of Doubles, say only including Double Sal, double loop, and Axel and still having a good chance at placing well? I know I'm not the only one with this problem in collegiates because I see it often but it would be nice to get some advice.

Offline Skittl1321

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 121
    • Skittles Skates
Re: Advice on Figure Skating Levels
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 03:05:01 PM »
How old are you?  If you are 21, you may consider skating adult. 
Don't think about adult skating as just those of us who can barely do single loops and started as adults.  It also includes many who skated as kids and have reached the level you skate at.  Adult nationals is not just a bunch of retired 'old ladies'- there are women there who are in their young 20s too.  It is for ALL kinds of adults, and a lot of transitioning college students don't know that.
There is a qualifying structure for 'championship' events at nationals, so you could try to qualify for nationals, or, if you don't want to do that there are non-qualifying national events where you skate only against your age class (21-30).  The level you would be in is Master's Intermediate/Novice.

To get an idea of what these skaters do, here are the protocols from last year: