You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Figure Skating Club advice  (Read 4372 times)

Offline Harleyboy

• Homologating Quadrubles
  • Total GOE: 57
Figure Skating Club advice
« on: October 30, 2011, 10:36:14 PM »
I was recently elected to the Board of Director for the local figure skating club. I have no experience in club management, but was a small business owner for 31 years and have a little background in finances.

Basically, this club is broke. We need to come up with some money making projects.  Please tell me how you club makes money to buy ice time and  support the LTS program.

Thanks in advance for any advise you can offer.

Offline Skittl1321

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 121
    • Skittles Skates
Re: Figure Skating Club advice
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2011, 08:51:32 AM »
1. Membership fee
2. Ice show (completely no frills so we don't spend on lights, sound, or costumes. Skaters pay to skate. The money really comes.from LTS groups...the more skaters on the ice at a time the better profit...lasts about 1 hr, we use 1 hr of.club ice.for.finale.rehearsal. no other ice.time is purchased.
3. Gift wrapping.at the mall.for holidays.(barely worth it)
4. Host a competition. (but sometimes this.loses money)
5. Sell club jackets (but take preorders, we once got stuck with a huge pile of shirts)

Our club does.not.spend much money though. Just one hour of ice a week.  LTS is seperate from the club.

Offline Kim to the Max

• Ice is the Vice
  • Total GOE: 72
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2011, 09:05:41 AM »