You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: ISI to USFSA Basic Skills Membership  (Read 9578 times)

Offline JHarer

• Pairs Partner
  • Total GOE: 34
ISI to USFSA Basic Skills Membership
« on: April 20, 2011, 11:58:28 AM »
Ok, so I am totally new to USFSA. My home rink just switched from ISI LTS to USFS Basic Skills. They added an extra $15 to our tuition this month for basic skills memberships. I am in basic 7/8 so after I pass this level I will need to either join a club or get an individual membership right?

Plus doesn't the year run July to June, so depending on if/when I pass the last basic level I may end up paying membership fees twice?

Offline Skittl1321

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 121
    • Skittles Skates
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 12:03:24 PM »
Yes, if you join a club, you will end up paying twice- Basic Skills memberships are not full memberships.  (Our rink also requires that anyone with a full membership still pay the Basic Skills membership fee to take classes...not sure if that's double dipping, or correct.)

However, you don't necessarily need to join a club.  Basic Skills runs through Freestyle levels, and if your rink offers those, you could continue on there.  You could also skate on your own without joining the organziation (many at the rink do that).

But to test or compete as USFS, then you either need to be in a club or an individual member.  I only join when I know I have a test or want to do a competition, so I've had many years of not being a member of USFS or ISI.

Offline Debbie S

• Zamboni Driver
  • Total GOE: 17
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2011, 12:15:13 PM »
Plus doesn't the year run July to June, so depending on if/when I pass the last basic level I may end up paying membership fees twice?