You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Jackson Matrix vs. MK Pros  (Read 3209 times)

Offline ChristyRN

• Salchow-a-Bunga!
  • Total GOE: 184
Jackson Matrix vs. MK Pros
« on: December 12, 2021, 04:07:11 PM »
I've been skating on MK Pros for several years. I was gifted a pair of Jackson Matrix Freestyle blades. It would mean a change from a 7 foot to 8 foot radius. I don't really know what the other differences are profile-wise. I'm going to mount them on my old boots and skate some public sessions to see if I like them before I mount them on my current skates.

What should I expect with the change from 7 foot to 8 foot radius? And will I die trying?  :o
Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with one gorgeous redhead.  (Lucille Ball)

Online Bill_S

• Over the Edge
  • Total GOE: 370
  • Whack! Bam! Ouch!
    • Bill's skating pages
Re: Jackson Matrix vs. MK Pros
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2021, 05:17:01 PM »
There's a small change in feeling for the rocker, but the bigger issue for me was the different spin rocker that appears to be characteristic of most Jacksons. I COULD NOT get a decent spin with Jackson's I tried. Keep in mind that I did not try the Matrix Freestyle blades, and your tests may provide different results.

I tried MK Pros, Wilson Coronation Aces, Gold Seals, and Pattern 99s and I retained my spins with a small adjustment period. But not the Jacksons.
Bill Schneider

Offline supersharp

• Intergalactic Ice Dancer
  • Total GOE: 73
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2021, 10:05:16 PM »