You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Competitions and coaches  (Read 2478 times)

Offline skategeek

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 260
  • or is that geekyskater?
Competitions and coaches
« on: September 24, 2014, 10:57:28 PM »
First competition coming up, and I'm wondering how coach time at the event is handled.  (Local event, so travel isn't necessary.)  Does the coach get paid for the whole time they're there with me?  Just the time around my events?  (There's about 2 hours between my events, so there will be downtime.)  Time spent helping me with hair and makeup?  (I'm new at that… I'm going to need help.)  Also, the competition web site mentions a coach fee for coaches putting skaters on the ice; do I cover that, or does she?

Obviously I'll be talking to the coach about it too; I just want to get a feel for what to expect.  Anything else I need to know?

Offline fsk8r

• Sharp Skates
  • Total GOE: 49
Re: Competitions and coaches
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 12:03:27 AM »
I can't really comment about the coach costs. My coaches charge a fixed rate which seems to be about the cost of a half hour lesson and perhaps a little extra to cover gas. I've heard others want to charge for their time properly (which does seem fair enough as mine must lose out on money to travel to a competition with me).
But I did want to ask whether it's common for their to be a coach fee to be asked by the competition? I've never heard of that one before. I sincerely hope they don't introduce it over here, but we do already have to supply all our coach's details when entering and they're checked against the NISA database and because we're running all competitions as IJS, only IJS approved coaches may put you on the ice.

Offline skategeek

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 260