You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Blade positioning woes  (Read 6841 times)

Online Bill_S

• Over the Edge
  • Total GOE: 370
  • Whack! Bam! Ouch!
    • Bill's skating pages
Blade positioning woes
« on: January 17, 2020, 11:01:23 AM »
I finally mounted blades to my new Riedell Fusion boots using just the temporary mounting screws. I tried skating for the first time this morning, and it did not go as well as hoped.

The first steps on the ice lasted about 10 feet, and I felt like a complete beginner. I could tell that blade position was off considerably. Both blades needed to be moved to the inside. I went back to the lobby, untied, and used a screwdriver to re-adjust blade position.  I expected having to do an initial adjustment.

The second attempt to skate lasted about 30 yards until I returned to the lobby again for the screwdriver. Left blade was now OK, but I was still pronating on the right blade.

This time, I moved the right blade as far inside as possible and skated again. MUCH better, but even with the right blade adjustment against the limits, I was still pronating. The right bladed "shussshhhed" when gliding forward, and I could visually detect a little remaining pronation. I spent the last half hour just doing some stroking to break in the stiff boots despite the odd feeling.

When I got off the ice and compared the position of the right blade vs the left, I observed this (because the skates are inverted, the right skate is shown on the left)...

and this...

The right blade is obviously positioned well to the inside, much more than the left one, but it's still not enough.