You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Advice on New Boots/ Blades  (Read 8636 times)

Offline fantasyfen

• Jump Jump Jump
  • Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 8
Advice on New Boots/ Blades
« on: January 20, 2017, 10:00:04 AM »
Hi all, I'm an adult skater, and I've been skating for almost a year (since Feb 2016) using Riedell 229. The support on the right boot is really waning now. If I press on the ankle it's giving in already (not completely, but sufficient to need double lacing already...)

It wasn't very obvious previously, but now that I'm working on loop, flip and back scratch spins (using a lot of my right leg), that wierd feeling in my right boot is getting more and more obvious.

The problem with my current pair is somehow it's around 1.5 cm larger than my foot size, especially for my right foot. Now my foot kind of slide a bit inside the right boot. When I tried it (first pair), I thought it was ok, but didn't know it expanded so much. Or it didn't fit in the first place. Also, I feel like the blade on the right boot isn't mounted very straight.

So now I want to get a new pair because it's simply frustrating to skate on the current pair.

For blades I'm looking at getting MK Pro/ MK Pro Revolution. I searched online, but there doesn't seem to be a lot of info about the revolution blades. I know I'm kind of getting the Rev blades for it's look, but how does it really perform? Also, there is a parabolic blade vs normal blades, does the parabolic really affect edging? If so, by how much?