You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Having lots of slippage after a sharpening. Is 5/8" roh OK?  (Read 6921 times)

Offline eillie

• Beware the Bars of Death!
  • Total GOE: 0
Having lots of slippage after a sharpening. Is 5/8" roh OK?
« on: September 20, 2013, 12:41:09 AM »
I sharpened my blades earlier this week and immediately thought that they didn't feel as 'sticky' on the ice as I would've expected for newly sharpened skates.  This resulting in me having both random falls doing things I normally don't have problems with (sliding and falling sideways doing forward crossovers!) and also more issues than usual with things I am still learning.  The biggest thing I noticed was that my loop jump (which I'm still beginning to learn) felt a lot harder ... I've learned the entry from a forward inside 3-turn, and immediately after the 3-turn I kept skidding.  On the bright side, my backward outside 3-turns felt easier because of the slipperiness!  (Probably not how it's suppose to be done, but oh well.)  Overall though, I am not very happy with the change in how the blades feel.   :-[

I don't know very much about the technical details of blades, but I asked the sharpener what the radius he was using was, and he said it was around 5/8".  Unfortunately I don't know what radius I had before the sharpening, because my skates are new and they came sharpened already.

My question is, is 5/8" normal for a beginner?  A bit of googling seems to indicate that 1/2" is more common, but is 5/8" still reasonable?

I think I just want to know whether I should suck it up and work harder  :P , or if this is a blade problem and I need to get it fixed soon.

Offline sarahspins

• Passed Silver MITF 4/7/13!
  • Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 131
  • CER-C