You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Anyone else do Crossfit?  (Read 3129 times)

Offline KillianL

• Beware the Bars of Death!
  • Total GOE: 2
Anyone else do Crossfit?
« on: September 25, 2014, 09:19:51 PM »
I've been skating for five years now, seemingly hopelessly stuck at USFS Adult Silver / ISI FS4.  Three months ago I started Crossfit, and apart from feeling totally broken all the time, I've lost a couple of dress sizes and gained a solid camel and bigger jumps.  I now feel like the FS5 ceiling is only a glass one, and before long I'll punch through it.  Has anyone else here tried Crossfit as your off-ice training?  Do you have any wisdom, cautions, or encouragement to share?

Offline fsk8r

• Sharp Skates
  • Total GOE: 49
Re: Anyone else do Crossfit?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2014, 03:18:43 AM »
What's crossfit?

I've recently taken up rollerskiing (cross-country skiing on dry land - there's not much snow in the UK) and that's really increased my upper body strength (I'm recovering from a shoulder operation so I'm a little lopsided in that department) and also increased the strength of my legs. The things it's improved are my twizzles (not sure how!) and my jumps are bigger and my legs being stronger means I can manage a camel-spin with a much greater frequency. As I'm only doing it once a week, I only feel broken for a couple of days after and deliberately don't skate the day after.

Offline KillianL

• Beware the Bars of Death!
  • Total GOE: 2
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2014, 12:59:01 PM »