You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Training/Practice after stress fracture recovery?  (Read 2577 times)

Offline SCS8

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
Training/Practice after stress fracture recovery?
« on: December 21, 2017, 08:50:38 PM »
I skated recreationally up to Freestyle 1 when I was younger, and recently (8 years later) got back onto the ice. I had been skating for 3 months, twice a week for about 4 hours a week and re-learned my LTS skills and waltz jump, salchow, and toe loop. I guess I was over-doing it on the practicing because I developed a possible stress fracture on the fibula of my landing foot, and have been off the ice for 3 weeks now. I'm probably going to take another month to let it heal completely, but want to transition back into it correctly.

Any other skaters out there who have advice on how to avoid injuries or how to healthily transition back into skating after a long break? Cross training, PT, or certain amount of practice time per session? How much is "too much" practice for a session?

Offline nicklaszlo

• Three-Penny Three-Turns
  • Total GOE: 221
Re: Training/Practice after stress fracture recovery?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2017, 09:26:54 PM »
When I thought I had a stress fracture, I did some research into this.  It is very rare for figure skating to cause stress fractures.  When figure skaters get stress fractures, usually it happens to elite skaters during the off season.  The cause is too much cross training (they run too far, too suddenly).

In my case it turned out I had a capsule injury.  Your situation is probably different.

If you get a stress fracture from 4 hours/week training in any sport, you should consider if there's a second cause, like diet or low bone density.