You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Beginner- and differently sized Feet?  (Read 3790 times)

Offline Mint27

• Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 0
Beginner- and differently sized Feet?
« on: May 29, 2014, 03:37:09 PM »
Hello!

I am in the later US basics level, 19 years old, 5'4 and small-framed.

I have a problem where I have two differently sized feet. I am looking to buy Riedell 133's.

My street shoe size: (I give a range bc shoes vary)
Left foot:   6.5 to 7
Right foot: 7.5 to 8

I bought Riedell skates 6.5 that I have not worn to the ice yet (so I can return them).

Now I don't really know what to do. I don't have the money to buy custom skates or two pairs, and I checked with Riedell and cannot special-order a pair of different skates.
I am a college student so I will not progress as quickly through the levels so my Riedell 133's should be fine for now.

My only real option is to pick one size, and I chose 6.5 I don't know if I should exchange them for something lower, and wear a thick sock on my small foot. What do you guys think I should do?  :blush:

I am not looking to be competitive but skate for fun, however I would still like to progress into doing spins and jumps and having two differently sized feet gives me a lot of issues.

19 y/o, Summer 2014

short-term Goals:
* perfect my stroking, look confident on the ice with power and speed
* reach Freestyle 1
* increase my flexibility in back and legs
* increase my overall body strength

long-term Goals:
* be flexible enough to do a Biellmann
* do double jumps & combo spins

Offline AgnesNitt

• Asynchronous Skating Team Leader
  • Total GOE: 516
    • The ice doesn't care
Re: Beginner- and differently sized Feet?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2014, 05:43:17 PM »