You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Help with getting new boots  (Read 2810 times)

Offline kurunut

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 0
Help with getting new boots
« on: July 01, 2015, 12:55:44 AM »
This is my first time posting here, I hope this is the right place!

I'm currently in Jackson freestyle (size 5.5C) with Mark IV blades, which are starting to break down. I've been doing reading through this forum and have contacted some online skate shops, and came to a conclusion of purchasing the Jackson Premier with Matrix Legacy blades.

So here's my first question: I'm getting the same size as my current skates, 5.5C. Since I'm getting Jacksons again, should I be concerned about actually going to a pro shop and trying them on rather than just ordering them online? I know that it's always better to try them on in person, but I don't want to drive there if possible... just in case they don't have what I need in stock, etc.
If anyone has experience going from freestyles to premiers, I would like to know about how different (or similar) the fit feels!

My second question: My Freestyles have 9" blades on them, but Jackson's blade chart says that 9 1/4" blades are suggested(?) for size 5.5 boots...so now I can't figure out whether I'm supposed to be getting 9" or 9 1/4". Are there any noticeable differences when you go to different blade sizes on same size boots? (If that ever happens) and if possible, I would like to know which one would be the "appropriate" size blades.

Thank you!! :)

Offline Loops

• Alex, I'd like to buy an axel…
  • Total GOE: 112
Re: Help with getting new boots
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2015, 03:17:55 AM »
Out of curiosity why are you so reluctant to go to the shop?