You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Ice skates for adult beginner to single jumps  (Read 4774 times)

Offline Mitsuki

• Wearing Rental Skates
  • Total GOE: 8
Ice skates for adult beginner to single jumps
« on: March 26, 2017, 10:29:28 AM »
Hello everyone !

I'm new to ice skating and I need some of your advices.

I am having trouble choosing my first pair of ice skates.
I am 5'3 (1m60) tall and weight 53kg. I am 25y old and started skating in rentals for 1.5 months. I plan on taking lessons and skating at the very least 8h per week. I am actually at usfsa basic level 4 and I'd like to buy a skate that could last me through single jumps, at least.
I have narrow feet, triangle shaped toes, and flat arch.

I was thinking of Jackson Classique and Edea Overture, and maybe the Jackson Freestyle because the Classique are labeled as entry level... But the difference in price makes me cringe a little.
What do you think ?

Also what's the real differences between the blades mark IV, mirage and aspire ?

Thank you !

Offline ChristyRN

• Salchow-a-Bunga!
  • Total GOE: 184
Re: Ice skates for adult beginner to single jumps
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2017, 08:40:03 PM »
I have a skater friend about your height and weight that is working on all her single jumps. She's in Jackson Freestyle. She's a light skater.

One benefit to being an adult is that your feet *probably* won't grow anymore, so you can wear your skates longer. Don't worry so much about the price but the fit. Try on several brands if you can, and definitely get your feet measured by a qualified fitter. (says the voice of experience)
Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall madly in love with one gorgeous redhead.  (Lucille Ball)

Offline skategeek

• Swizzle Royalty
  • Total GOE: 260
  • or is that geekyskater?