You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Clothing and padding question from adult newbie  (Read 2354 times)

Offline bayroan

• Designated Spinner
  • Total GOE: 0
Clothing and padding question from adult newbie
« on: April 20, 2019, 05:27:36 PM »
New to the forum, excited to be here! :D

I'm a total newbie and an awkward adult to boot. I've trawled through the boards and haven't found answers to what sound like a lot of dumb questions...please bear with me.

1. I've been having knee pain due to hip weakness that makes my knees buckle in, which has taken me off jump practice. I've been thinking of getting those kinesio-tape compression tights from cw-x to see if they can stabilize better, but not sure if they work or if they'll increase my dependence on them. Has anyone used something like that and found it effective?

2. I get horrible bloating and pain in my middle sometimes due to lady pains and I need tights that don't dig in. I do need something compressive to hold up the SkatingSafe ultracrash gel pads in place, but while my underarmour tights work, they still dig in at the waist when I don't want anything touching that area. Does anyone else have this problem and found a solution?

3. Does anyone have gel padding that's thicker than the standard 1/4in akton gel or the 5/8 skatingsafe? I've tried falling on them on my hips and they hurt a lot so I'm thinking of using the 1/2in for the hips and tailbone but they're pretty heavy. I'm wondering if it will be ridiculous to wear them? I'm willing to deal with the extra weight but worried that it might throw off my balance or something if I occasionally go without them due to them weighint more than 2 pounds together.