You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: Could skates be holding me back even at the beginner stage?  (Read 3620 times)

Offline masterblaster

• Axelicious!
  • Total GOE: 6
Could skates be holding me back even at the beginner stage?
« on: March 08, 2019, 06:27:14 AM »
I'm a beginner who started three months ago. (I don't mean started freestyle, I mean started standing on the ice and clinging to the boards.)

I've been doing group lessons once a week and practicing about 4 hours a week on my own. I took beginner adult LTS starting in January, and I felt pretty comfortable on the ice right away. I'm going to start "advanced" adult LTS at the end of this month. Currently, I can do very basic skills: snowplow stops, swizzles, ski glides, two foot turns, one foot gliding, backward skating (swizzles, c-pushes, some stroking), and L-pushes. I have a lot of speed and deep edges, according to my LTS teacher.

I am a flat-footed pronator from way back, however, and I have the Riedell R-Fit inserts in my skates (Jackson Elle  Fusions) but I am still almost always on my inside edges, even when I think I'm leaning strongly to the outside. I can launch myself into a one-foot glide on my outside edge if I concentrate really really hard, but it's quite a shallow outside edge when I check my tracings, and doesn't last very long before I'm back on the inside edge. Sometimes I'm just on the flat of the blade, and managing to create a curve by angling my shoulders. I don't think the blade actually leans to the outside a lot of the time.