You are viewing as a Guest.

Welcome to skatingforums - over 10 years of figure skating discussions for skaters, coaches, judges and parents!

Please register to be able to access all features of this message board.

Author Topic: How would I go about starting private lessons?  (Read 13866 times)

Offline EnjoyTheGlide

• Rink Rat
  • Total GOE: 0
  • Waltz Hops
How would I go about starting private lessons?
« on: April 05, 2015, 07:39:37 PM »
I hope I'm posting this in the appropriate section.

Long-time lurker here.  I'm a college student who has been been skating for about five years now, with the first two years dedicated to the USFSA Basic Skills program (1–8) and these past three years just skating recreationally during the public skate sessions at my university's ice rink.  I had to stop taking group lessons because at the time, a lot of things were going on in my life an I didn't think that I would be able to juggle everything.  Schoolwork aside, my life has largely stabilized, and I can afford to take up skating again.  The problem now is that all the LTS programs do not line up well with my schedule.  For example, the program sessions starts in the middle of my semester and run until two weeks or so after the semester is over.  This goes for both the clubs near my hometown and the one in the town my school is located in.  I attend school far from home and I would not be able to stay the extra two weeks or make trips back and forth from home to school for the last couple of lessons. 

I really want to get back into skating, and it seems to me that private lessons is the only option left.   However, I'm not sure where I should start looking or how I should apply.  How do I find someone right for me, and how would I start contacting them?  Is it as "simple" as going through the instructors listing on the club website and sending an e-mail?  Or would it be better to directly approach someone after club sessions are over and ask?

Thanks in advance!